Heidi Schreck and Clubbed Thumb announce recipients of ‘constitution commissions’


A group of 16 early-career writers have been awarded the commissions for building the thumb bot, the brainchild of two-time Tony nominee Heidi Schreck, creator and star of What the Constitution means to me. Each playwright will receive $1,000 in a series of industry-only readings featuring their work, taking place October 5-15 at the Wild Project.

Recipients of the Thumb Bot Commissions are: Kori Alston, Nelson Diaz-Marcano, Allyson Dwyer, Crystal Finn, Nazareth Hassan, Justice Hehir, Julia Izumi, Johnny Lloyd, Cristina Luzárraga, Kathy Ng, Hanna Novak, Deneen Reynolds-Knott , Aaron Ricciardi, Ryan Szelong, Ruth Tang and May Treuhaft-Ali.

“Clubbed Thumb has been my artistic home for almost two decades now, and I doubt I would ever have finished What the Constitution means to me without their faith in me, the loving support of their group of writers, and [Producing Artistic Director] Maria Striar breathes down my neck,” Schreck explains. “I feel lucky to be able to give something back to this theater that means so much to me and also to support this incredibly talented group of playwrights. They are brilliant artists and I can’t wait for the world to discover their work.

“The past two years have not been easy for emerging artists,” adds Striar. “The writers in our early career writers group didn’t have the showcases, networking, or community that this program usually provides, but they continued to do their work under less than optimal circumstances.”


Comments are closed.